Skip to Content

Department of Chiropractic

About Us

In 1990, Macquarie University became the first University to formally conduct professional Chiropractic education when a Centre for Chiropractic was established within the School of Biological Sciences.

The new Centre for Chiropractic initially offered a postgraduate chiropractic programs to which were added an undergraduate degree program in 1999. At the same time the Centre became the  Department of Health and Chiropractic within the Division of Enviromental and Life Sciences.

Since that time, the Department has shortened it's name to the Department of Chiropractic within the Faculty of Science as a part of the university's restructure in 2009. Department staff are focused on both excellence in chiropractic teaching and developing research interests within our profession.

Head of Department

The Department is currently lead by Dr Rosemary Giuriato (Chiropractor). Dr Giuriato's qualifications include the chiropractic qualification of Post Graduate Diploma of Chiropractic from Sydney College of Chiropractic in Sydney, Australia and a BSc (University of Sydney). Dr Giuriato has an interest in clinical chiropractic and is also the Director of Clinics for Macquarie University and makes time to continue practicing as a clinician between her teaching and research commitments.


Research Interest

Employment Opportunites

For contact details and research interests of our academic team please follow this link.